Lago di Garda, Italy

Lago di Garda, or Lake Garda, is the largest lake in Italy. Located in the northern part of the country, the lake is just south of the Austrian border and west of Venice. Of course, you’d be hard-pressed to find a region in Italy that isn’t beautiful, but honestly…this area is stunning. Yes, it’s a tourist hot spot and definitely not a destination off the beaten path (which is what I usually look for), but you know what? I loved Lago di Garda and would go back in a heartbeat. I’ve also added “Explore the Dolomites” to my life list.

a man in a boat on Lago di Garda, Italy

The tiny town of Castelletto is one of the most picturesque places on the entire lake.

Castelletto, Italy

the harbor at Castelletto, Italy

harbor in Castelletto, Italy

harbor in Castelletto, Italy

a boat in Castelletto, Italy

Lago di Garda, Italy

house in Castelletto, Italy

a boat on Lago di Garda, Italy

Lago di Garda, Italy

house in Castelletto, Italy

2015-10-22 17.04.29 HDR

And of course, no blog post about an Italian destination would be complete without images of food and drink. I ordered this mushroom and polenta dish in a little osteria tucked into a back alley, and it was one of the most delicious things I’ve ever eaten in my life.

Italian feast: polenta, fall wild mushroom medley, and local artisan cheeses

You must have at least one Aperol Spritz when traveling in Italy. I had more than one.

Aperol Spritz

This sweet little balcony is attached to an Airbnb apartment. The bottle of wine was complimentary. Such a lovely spot and wonderful hosts!

a balcony overlooking Lago di Garda, Italy

If you’ve traveled in Italy, please tell me your favorite destination. Should I venture back there for a third time someday?

4 comments

  1. Sonel

    What magnificent views Ruth and stunning captures of it as well! I wouldn’t mind being there as well and I am glad that I can do my ‘virtual travelling’ and see the beauty through your eyes. That food does look absolutely delicious and I don’t blame you for having more than one Spritz. I guess that is why I don’t like travelling. If I had to visit a place like that, I wouldn’t want to go back home at all. I would stay right there. LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

