Sunday Visitor

I didn’t have to venture out and about for this weirdness…it came to me! We found this handsome snake in our kitchen this afternoon. (Note to self: Always investigate when the dogs seem interested in looking under the furniture. I think this guy spent the night in our house!) I scooped him into a bucket, put a lid on it, and dug out an old guidebook, Amphibians and Reptiles in Colorado. Sure enough, it’s a baby bullsnake. I set him free in a nice pile of rocks in our yard, and he posed for a few photos before slithering off. Adios!

bullsnake

15 comments

  1. Sonel

    Oh Ruth, you are my hero!!! Thanks for not killing this beauty and I am glad it was not a poisonous snake after all but as they are more afraid of us than we of them, I am sure the doggie kids would have been safe as well. What a lovely shot too! He is gorgeous! πŸ˜€ *big hugs*

    Like

  2. TBM

    It always makes me nervous when my cat and dog are looking under the furniture. However, it usually is a mouse or a moth here. He’s handsome and I’m glad he was rescued.

    Like

  3. Very impressed Ruth!! I have had close encounters with snakes – cobras even – in our plantation houses. I usually screamed and waited for someone to rescue them…and me πŸ˜€

    Like

Tell me what you think!

