Travel Theme: Pathways

Ailsaโ€™s travel theme this week is Pathways. I love this photo, and there’s a story behind it. Some of you may remember that I broke my foot in 2011, just a few days before leaving Germany for Portugal. I was determined to carry on with my planned vacation, and I made it to Portugal. But sadly, you can’t travel over sand on crutches, and I could only enjoy the amazing beaches from afar. One day we found this boardwalk, and I could finally venture close to the water’s edge and snap this image. I had only been on crutches for about five days, and I almost died from the exertion and from sunstroke, but I think getting this shot was worth it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Seriously though, it really made me think about accessibility and the hardships faced by physically challenged travelers. Have any of you traveled with a disability?

P.S. Many thanks to whoever designed and constructed this boardwalk!

boardwalk to the beach, Alantejo Coast, Portugal

Boardwalk to the beach, Alantejo Coast, Portugal, 2011

28 comments

  1. TBM

    Nice shot and I’m sorry to hear about your foot. I’ve traveled sick before, but not on crutches or anything. We saw this show about people making wheelchairs that could be used on rocky surfaces and such for people who don’t live in cities. it was brilliant and I admire people who help those who need it.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Travel Theme: Pathwways. | the unbearable lightness of being me.

  3. Pingback: Travel theme: Pathways | unexpectedincommonhours

  4. Splendid beauty in this photo. With a story, also without knowing your story. I once broke my right hand visiting the family in Norway for Christmas. I went there by car… The fracture was complicated and I had an operation. And lots of good friends…, ๐Ÿ™‚ the journey back home to the Rhine Valley was several hundreds kilometers long. I fine reminder, dear Ruth!

    Like

  5. poppytump

    Glad you were able to carry on with your holiday Ruth . How unfortunate . Must have made your day inching along this boardwalk to the very end ๐Ÿ™‚
    Yes … the thought of crutches and sand ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    Like

  6. I haven’t, but a friend broke both knees in a car accident going home from a party at my house years ago. I felt so bad for him. I helped him out after he got home and one day took him to the beach with other friends. He was still in a wheelchair, there was no boardwalk, and it was epic (I think we mostly carried him)! Also, my father sprained an ankle on my parents’ first trip abroad. They were in Portugal and a man in a small village fashioned a homemade wooden crutch for him. It was very moving to see him using it and hear about his appreciation for the man’s ability and generosity.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

