Gut Aiderbichl Animal Sanctuary near Salzburg, Austria

We’re a family of animal lovers. Every single one of us. So on one of my trips to Germany to see my family, my cousin planned a visit to Gut Aiderbichl, an animal sanctuary near Salzburg that’s a dream come true for neglected, abandoned, and abused animals. (Some trivia for you: Austria has the most stringent animal protection laws of any country in the world.) Celebrity Michael Aufhauser purchased the land, situated in the stunningly beautiful, rolling Austrian countryside. Supposedly the site was also desirable because it has a “special” energy, and whether you believe in stuff like that or not, I have to say that this sanctuary is one of the most peaceful places I have ever visited in my life. Many of the animals are allowed to roam freely about the barns and the grounds and mingle with the guests, which adds a fun element to a visit. If you’re an animal lover and you find yourself in Salzburg, take a break from all things Mozart and visit this place.

pasture at Gut Aiderbichl animal sanctuary near Salzburg, Austria

The sanctuary is located in the most idyllic area, with acres of pasture.

Austrian countryside near Salzburg, Austria

Look at this countryside. Although I love my high desert home in the mountains, there’s something about this landscape that really calls to me. Sigh.

The main house at Gut Aiderbichl animal sanctuary near Salzburg, Austria

The main house at the sanctuary is a typical Austrian country house. Note the goat reclining in the yard.

A happy cow at Gut Aiderbichl animal sanctuary near Salzburg, Austria.

Happy indeed!

Donkeys at Gut Aiderbichl animal sanctuary near Salzburg, Austria.

These little donkeys had just arrived from Greece.

Turkeys taking a morning stroll at Gut Aiderbichl animal sanctuary near Salzburg, Austria

The turkeys enjoyed roaming about, checking in on their neighbors.

Horse peeking into the barn at Gut Aiderbichl animal sanctuary near Salzburg, Austria

The horses are free to stay inside the barns or go outside.

I wonder how many times a day these animals receive some kind of acknowledgment from a visitor? What a happy change from their past lives...

I wonder how many times a day these animals receive some kind of acknowledgment from a visitor? What a happy change from their past lives…

These two look like they're catching up on some sanctuary gossip. Several little terriers had free run of the place, and we encountered them several times.

These two look like they’re catching up on some sanctuary gossip. The little terriers had free run of the place, and we encountered them several times.

Bunny yard at Gut Aiderbichl animal sanctuary near Salzburg, Austria

The bunnies have their own yard, as well as a house designed just for them.

A goat inspects a visitor's purchases at Gut Aiderbichl animal sanctuary near Salzburg, Austria.

Where is the tourist?!? This goat was extremely interested in investigating (and possibly sampling) these gift shop purchases.

Gut Aiderbichl animal sanctuary's rescue truck

Gut Aiderbichl’s Good Truck, ready for the next rescue mission.

There are also two Gut Aiderbichl locations in Germany.

14 comments

  1. Beautiful pictures. I am applying to Salzburg for my Masters studies. If I get through, I am pretty pretty sure I will visit this place. So amazing! And, it is in every way perfect for photography too!! Thank you so much ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Sonel

    Heaven for all kinds of animals indeed. I wish they had a place like that here. Gorgeous shots hon and I just love the one of the horse outside the barn. It’s stunning! ๐Ÿ™‚ *hugs*

    Like

  3. This is an amazing place! I wish I had known about it when I was there…maybe someday I can visit again. I’m glad there are animals that have this place.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Best Friends Animal Sanctuary in Kanab, Utah | weird & cool stuff seen while out & about

Tell me what you think!

