Travel Theme: Art

Ailsa at Where’s my backpack? issued a new travel theme challenge: Art. I’m recycling an image I posted in the early days of my blog. I came across Da Tung & Xi’an Bao Bao while wandering around Portland on a rainy, chilly December day. According to the Portland Parks & Recreation website:

The young elephant standing peacefully on his father’s back symbolizes safe and prosperous offspring. The elaborate surface decoration features cloud-shaped curves and birds and animals from ancient Chinese mythology. The piece is titled Da Tung & Xi’an Bao Bao. Da Tung may be translated as “universal peace” or “large bronze.” Xi’an Bao Bao means “baby elephant.” The sculpture was a gift to the city from Chinese businessman Huo Baozhu, whose foundry in Xi’an, China, is licensed by the national government to reproduce Chinese antiquities. Huo, who visited Portland a number of times, said he was motivated by a love of Chinese history and admiration for Portland.

I adore this sculpture, partially because of the design and partially because elephants are one of my favorite animals. As I recall, I gasped out loud when I saw it. High praise for any art, I think. 😉

Elephants. Portland, Oregon, USA, 2010

7 comments

  1. Pingback: Travel Theme: Art | Beyond the Brush

Tell me what you think!

