Partnach Gorge (Partnachklamm)

During my 2007 trip to Munich to see my family, my cousin and I planned a trip to the Garmisch-Partenkirchen area. I love this region in southern Germany. The scenery is absolutely stunning, and we always find great shops and restaurants. It was unusually hot, so my cousin suggested also hiking through the Partnachklamm, or Partnach Gorge. Excellent idea! I’ll post some pics of the area in the near future, but today I want to show you the gorge and the river. Also, I found a really cool virtual tour of the gorge here. Click on the screen and then move your cursor to see a 360-degree view. You’ll feel like you’re there! You can see more virtual tours of the gorge here; scroll down and select one of the links under Alternative. OK, now how much of your day have I wasted? πŸ™‚ Seriously, hiking through this gorge was one of the highlights of my trip.

Partnachklamm

Partnachklamm

Partnachklamm

Partnachklamm

turquoise water
The water is a beautiful color.

21 comments

  1. poppytump

    I’m peeking again πŸ˜‰ Hey we had a trip down to Garmisch oooh yrs ago now I still have little wooden carved Father Christmas tree ornament from there … and we took a ride up to the Zugspitze and also cable car up another place and walked down . It is a beautiful area ! This gorge looks smashing .

    Like

    • Hi Tricia,
      This region of Germany is so special. Travel anywhere is almost always enjoyable, but sometimes I feel a really deep connection with a place…I feel that way about this area. How lucky you are to have the perfect reason to go there often! Yes, you definitely should hike the gorge.

      I saw that you also visited Nishta in Dubrovnik! Such a small world. Maybe you and I will end up in the same location at the same time some day! πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • A small world indeed, Ruth! That would be fun if our paths crossed.

        My husband enjoyed the Falafel at Nishta too. Of course, I had to spirit away a little sample from his plate. πŸ™‚ Did you get a chance to meet the couple that owns the restaurant? Such nice, creative people. Their young daughter was also a delightful dining partner.

        We’re heading down to Garmisch for a few appointments in the coming weeks, and perhaps we can visit the gorge on the same day.

        Like

      • I did not meet the couple. We visited for lunch three times while in Dubrovnik, and they were always quite busy (which I was glad to see!). Sounds like you had a lovely time with them.

        I can’t wait to see your gorge post and photos, Tricia! πŸ˜‰

        Like

      • We did not pack a lunch, and I wish we had! When you exit the gorge, the banks of the stream look so inviting. A perfect place to picnic! There are so many wonderful little bakeries and food shops in the area. I would suggest buying something the day before and starting early to avoid the crowds (and the heat, if it’s crazy hot like when I visited). Parts of the trail are slippery, so wear shoes or boots with a good tread. And take a LOT of photos. πŸ˜‰

        Like

Tell me what you think!

